Cover Model Corner Holiday Interview with John Antorino

This interview article also ran in the 2015 December issue of Affaire de Coeur Magazine.

961259_577015762368703_1443356438_nJohn Antorino is visiting here with me on Cover Model Corner and I’m excited to share his interview with everyone. I first met John and his mother at a writer’s event in East Tennessee in December two years ago and the seed of a story idea grew as I saw the work he has been doing with children who are very sick. That story idea led to my newest project and I’m excited to share that Jenna’s Christmas Wish is now available through Dark Castle Lords Publishing. Now let’s chat with John.

John, the first cover you appeared on, Dreams of a Raven Moon, was also with Dark Castle Lords. Is Jenna’s Christmas Wish the second cover you’ve appeared on for Dark Castle Lords and have you been on other covers? And how did you get into cover modeling?

John:

Yes, and I’ve been on some other covers as well. I got into cover modeling basically by people telling me I’d be perfect for the covers. And photographers and authors contacting me to do them. So here I am!!

532964_267979803312521_324478079_n

Debra: Beyond modeling for book covers what other types of modeling have you done?

John: I’ve done it all. I started out as a fashion model when I was very young. Then crossed over into fitness modeling and underwear modeling, then into acting. I have done it all and still do it all. I’ve been blessed with great genes, as well as a crazy work ethic.

Debra: You’ve played a 1900’s Italian immigrant an HBO series called “The Knick” and a German Nazi Soldier in the movie “Escaping the Holocaust”. Can you tell us about your latest movie? I understand you have one releasing in the theaters just a few days.

John: I had one released this year called “Beyond The Trophy”. We are now waiting for a release date for what was titled “Escaping the Holocaust” and now titled “There Is Many Like Us”. Stay tuned!!

lobby3

Debra: Do you have any new projects coming up that you would like to tell us about?

John: Yes, first I am excited about the new book- Jenna’s Christmas Wish coming out and will being doing lots of press and pub for that.

Attend some conventions and conferences representing DCL and the new book. I am still the face of and sponsored athlete for the company- Muscle Wiz. And we have lots going on with new products coming out. I will be doing new magazine ads for them, as well as appearances and demos for them.

Anyone looking for great protein powders, fat burners, and other great products check them out and feel free and contact me about: www.musclewiz.com

I have some movies in the works that are still in pre-production. So keep an eye out for news on those.

Questions sent in by our fans:

How did you get started, and how old were you?

John : I started when I was young and in college. I was always being approached by people in general, as well as agents, photographers, scouts, etc….And they would always say I had a great look and could be in magazines and on tv/movies. I didn’t really think anything of it at first. I was just a kid in college having fun and playing sports. As time went on and it happened more and more. I would go home and tell my mom. She said let’s go see what it’s all about. We took the bus to NYC one day and the rest is history as they say!

Does he attend cons?

John: Yes I do. And hope to attend many more in 2016 and beyond!!

What did you do before modeling? What do you see yourself doing twenty years from now?

John: I was in college and having fun. Being a kid. And before my career really took off I worked a few different jobs. While I was in college I worked in nightclubs. As a male dancer and serving drinks. Fun job and fun times. I then worked with disabled adults in day programs teaching them life skills and taking them to the gym. And my last job I was a crisis counselor in a school for troubled youth. Both great and rewarding jobs that I’ll never forget.

20 years I see myself relaxing a lot more. Most likely owning my own business. Probably restaurants. Possibly doing something in the health and fitness field. And always involved with much charity and helping as many sick kids as possible.

Do you have to shave your body before a shoot?

John: Yes I do. Gotta stay smooth and clean. And showing all the details and hard work of my body for the camera. Makes a huge difference.

JAWSHIRT2

Debra: One of the things I know about you which inspired me to write a romance hero based on you is how much you do for children who are very ill. I’ve watched this for several years now and you bless so many people with the things you do to help. This also found its way into the story as I find one of the most heroic things a man can do is to help others. Can you tell us a little bit about the work you do with the children?

John: Yes, helping others and doing for others is and has always been my true passion and calling in life. I’ve been this way and have had this in my heart as far back as I can remember. I typically like to help anyone in need, less-fortunate, sick, homeless….But I really have a soft spot for sick kids. So, I help many sick kids with cancer and other terrible illnesses. I visit them at the hospitals and their homes as well. I buy them gifts and do things for them. Help out the families as much as I can. Spend time with them. Take them out. I even attend their Dr. appointments for support.

12105693_10153173239591027_7255068057147153103_n

Debra: What is your favorite way to spend the Christmas holidays?

John: With family and good friends. Relaxing and eating. Helping and giving to others, especially the sick and less fortunate. No greater feeling in the world for me than to give and make others happy.

Debra: Do you have any special memories of past Christmases that you’d like to share?

John: My mother, who raised us (my twin sister and I on her own) always makes Christmas special. She has an annual Christmas Eve party. And it’s full of great foods and family and close friends. The last Christmas I got to spend with both my Grandparents was the most special one for me. I believe it was in 2010. I miss them like crazy and Christmas really isn’t the same anymore.

Debra: Jenna’s Christmas Wish comes true. John, what is your Christmas wish this year?

John: My Christmas wish this year is probably the same most every year. It is for all the sick kids to be well and to be able to be home with their families and feeling good. Also, for the less fortunate to have food on their tables, a roof over their heads, and for no kid to wake up Christmas morning without presents.

Debra: That’s a beautiful wish, John and I will join you in that one and in wishing all our readers a Christmas full of blessings.

566243_10151117978832045_50305836_n

You can learn more about John at http://www.johnantorino.com/ ,http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3016683/ https://www.facebook.com/JohnAntorinofanpage/?ref=mf and https://www.facebook.com/JohnAntorino?fref=ts

For more about Debra and her books visit debraparmley.com

UPDATE: Since this interview, Debra has a new cover for Jenna’s Christmas Wish with John Antorio on the cover:

Jenna'sChristmasWish_Web72

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑