Cover Model Corner Interview With Chase Borst

I’m excited to be interviewing Chase Borst on Cover Model Corner today. I met Chase in May at the Weekend With the Authors in Nashville, TN this year and he graciously agreed to an interview.Chase, what was the first cover you appeared on and how did this come about?

My first cover was Roping Him In by Sidda Lee Rain.

Michel Prince is an author and owner of Royal Touch Photography. She worked out at the gym that I worked at a few years back. She approached me one day and asked if I would be interested in doing a photoshoot with her for images that could potentially be used as book covers. I agreed and things just progressed from there. I honestly had no clue what I was getting myself into or what the outcome would be but I have met a lot of really cool people and had some pretty awesome experiences since I started.  

If you could do a photo shoot anywhere in the world for a cover, where would you most want to go? What sort of shoot would it be?

Somewhere tropical for sure. I would really love to go to Kenya. The beaches look amazing. I think I would like to do a romantic shoot with my significant other. Besides their beaches the inland backdrop of Kenya is cool too. I would probably want to do daytime photos with both backdrops, hoping for some giraffes or elephants in the shot. And of course some sunset photos inland, as well as on the beach.

Ah there is nothing quite like a beach anywhere in the world, especially at sunset. Giraffes and elephants now that would be fun.

Beyond romance novel cover shots, what other projects or jobs keep you busy?

My girlfriend and I recently started a meal prep business, Core Meals. We heard from so many people that nutrition is their biggest struggle for a number of reasons, so we provide them a very affordable, convenient way to eat healthy. I also spend a lot of time reading and learning about health and wellness.

If you wrote a book, what would it be about?

I would probably tell a story about a person with a very troubled childhood and overcoming their obstacles and hardships. The book would be a timeline of their life and how they reacted to and overcame the struggles.

That is a story I would read or would love to hear one day.

This question is almost always asked in interviews because your fitness level is beyond the average persons. What is your exercise routine and what sort of nutrition plan do you follow to achieve and maintain your level of fitness?

My fitness routine consists of heavy resistance training 5-7 days per week, sometimes twice a day. Honestly, I don’t really follow a plan. I generally rotate body parts in a 4 day split, and try to push myself while at the gym. I generally do not do cardio unless I’m in show prep and even then it’s minimal. My diet in show prep restricts the types of foods I eat, my caloric intake, cycle my macros according to my training. When I’m not in prep I like to eat a wide variety of healthy foods, I’m a good cook and I enjoy it so I get to be a little more creative with my meals. I generally do not track macros or calories but keep things pretty clean overall. I do like treats though and definitely eat them in moderation when I am not preparing for a competition.

If you could share three simple fitness tips the average romance reader could do every day to stay healthy, what would they be?

  1. Nutrition comes before fitness and should be top priority. If you aren’t eating right, you are just spinning your wheels in the gym. I highly recommend an app to log your daily intake, and log EVERYTHING you eat. (I like myfitnesspal) a lot of people are in denial about what they put into their bodies. You can not out- exercise a poor diet.
  2. In the gym, primarily focus on strength training while supplementing cardio. Too many people think cardio is the answer for weight loss or to achieve their desired physique. Cardio is necessary, but in the right amount. Too much cardio can have the opposite effect that most people desire. The after effects of resistance training boost the metabolism for much longer than cardio and the muscle acquired from weight training also increases your body’s ability to burn calories while at rest.
  3. Challenge yourself and push your limits. You would be really surprised by what you are capable of. Most people sell themselves short in the gym and set limits in their head as far as how much weight they can handle, especially women. Lifting heavy does wonders for the female body. If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.

Thank you for that excellent advice. Nutrition is so important. It’s important to eat healthy. Sometimes it’s fine to cheat though. It’s your birthday dinner and the calories don’t count. What’s on the menu and what are you drinking?

It was my birthday a few days ago…I enjoyed sushi, steak, ahi tuna and a grilled pineapple mojito served with a sparkler in it.

Well happy belated birthday! What a fun menu!

Describe the perfect romantic evening:

I would pick her up and we would go to Willow River State Park and hike down to the waterfalls, hand in hand, while having intimate conversation. We would hike around in the serenity of sounds and beauty of the constant flow of water, watching every one of her movements. At some point, take a moment to sit in silence on one of the many rocks while taking each other in. Then we would hike up to the top of an overlook with an amazing view of the natural beauty of the park, talking about life with her in my arms, kissing her neck and shoulders. From there we would head back home and enjoy a candlelit dinner. Afterward we would cuddle up on the couch and watch The Notebook, paying more attention to her than the movie. Talking silently to her with my hands. When the moment was just right, I would kiss her and then carry her up the stairs…

Please share one unusual fact about you or your life:

I was homeless at one point in my life.

I’m so glad you’re not homeless now. What an inspiration you can be to others!

Eight Quickie questions:

  • Watching the sunrise or watching the sunset and the stars? Sunset and Stars

2.) The beach or the mountains? Beach

3.) Primitive camping or luxury hotel? That’s a tough one, probably luxury hotel.

4.) Snow skiing or water skiing? Snow

5.) Favorite movie: Close tie between The Notebook and American Gangster

6.) Best book you ever read: Where the Red Fern Grows

7.) Fav. Sport to play: Basketball, but golf is a close second

8.) Fav. Sport to watch: Basketball

Chase, thank you for visiting with me today. It’s been fun getting to know you. Before we say goodbye, how can fans stay up to date on your latest news? Do you have any news or announcements to share?

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChaseBorstModel/

Where to find my exclusive photos for purchase http://www.royaltouchphotography.com/

My business page:  http://www.coremealsmn.com

**This interview appeared in the August issue of Affaire de Coeur magazine.

Debra Parmley is known for her Cover Model Corner interviews, which are often featured on Affaire de Coeur magazine. A hybrid author, Debra is a muti-genre author of historical romance ranging from the western to the 1920’s, contemporary romance with military heroes, romantic suspense, paranormal and fairy tale romance. Damsel-in-distress stories are some of her favorites and her westerns have been described as gritty. Fascinated by fairy tales and folktales ever since she was a young girl, she has always ended her stories with a happy ever after. You can learn more about Debra at www.debraparmley.com

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑